Capture Coolamon Shire opens this Friday

As the Capture Coolamon Shire Photographic Competition enters its 4th year we look forward to celebrating amazing photographers from far and wide. 

This year we welcome back esteemed local judges, award-winning Ganmain photographer Jodie Harris, popular longtime local photographer Mr John Egan of Wagga Wagga and Regional Arts Development Officer with Eastern Riverina Arts, Mr Scott Howie.

The major $1000 cash prize is this year named in beloved Coolamon resident Mrs Cathie Thompson. Each year the Competition pays homage to a different citizen, past or present, who has made significant contributions to the Shire.

Additional cash prizes will also be awarded across the five categories. Images must be taken within the Coolamon Shire but the Competition is open to photographers everywhere and continues to grow in popularity attracting entrants from the shire and beyond. 

Last year’s overall winner was Miss Emma Corbertt for her portrait titled ‘Leaping Faith’. As a resident of Ganmain Emma took advantage of the beautiful rural backdrop to capture the winning image. 

An Official Opening Awards Night, will be held Friday October 30th in the Shire’s historic Up-to-Date Store and entered images will remain on exhibition until Sunday November 8.

We look forward to seeing you there :)

Cristy Houghton